Do you sing in the shower?

Do you sing in the shower?

34425.original-3912.jpg

I don’t. I don’t think I ever have. I know some people do and I’ve lived with some people who do.

I used to sing all the time when I was a kid. I was in a few musicals, chorus and talent shows. I even used to sing in my yard or on the street and have little old ladies come up to me with all these compliments. I mean, I wasn’t amazing or anything. I’m not delusional, but it was satisfactory singing- certainly not the worst.

But I got made fun of so much that I stopped. Like- completely stopped. I don’t even hum anymore. I became so self-conscious. It was the worst.  Sometimes I feel bad that I let people get to me that much. People can be so cruel to outcasts.

Apparently, research has found that you can lose the ability to sing. Your vocal chords get rusty and out of shape. You can however learn how to sing, as in singing in key. Supposedly, anyone can learn how to sing with quality vocal lessons, albeit they won’t all be Whitney Houston good, but they can learn to produce halfway decent vocals.

A part of me sometimes considers trying to get my voice back, but I don’t think I’ve ever recovered from that nagging voice in my head- the ones those bullies implanted into my mind years ago.

Oh well. One day at a time, I guess.

