The Glorious Days Of Achievement

Have you ever won a trophy?

trophy

I took dance classes from age 2 to age 9. We always got trophies for participating, but those trophies were more a courtesy thank you for participating type.

Some time in middle school I was on a soccer team and there was a local competition in which our team placed 2nd, so I got a medal for that. I played defense but I scored one goal during the season. I was definitely not the best athlete. I’d actually consider myself athletically challenged.

But, my biggest childhood achievements occurred in the 5th grade when I won 1st place for the ‘Why Science is Important?’ essay contest. I won 1st place in the entire school. I also won 2nd place in the science fair that year as well. My science project was called “Fancy Footwork” and it focused on the ability to use your right hand to write a number 6 and motion your left foot to write a 6 on the floor at the same time. And vice versa with the left hand and right foot.

Because I placed 2nd in the school, I was able to go to the county science fair, in which I place 3rd. I didn’t make it to the state competition, but it was pretty cool because I was able to get into some extra science classes after school with the other participants.

Good times.

