Tales from Western Sahara: photographs under the starry night sky

Western Sahara Report

By Holly Tarn

“Night comes to the desert all at once, as if somebody turned off the light” Joyce Oates

Photographer Andrew McConnell asks Sahrawis to tell us their stories, whilst he photographs them under the night sky.

01-copy4 Minatu Lanabas Suidat, 25, journalist, pictured in Tifariti, in Polisario controlled Western Sahara (Saharawi Arab Democratic Republic).

©Andrew McConnell 2011

‘I was born in El Aaiun refugee camp in 1984. I thought when I was a little girl that it was the nicest place in the world because I didn’t know anything other than the camps. My childhood was very nice. We played all night, we never had anything to fear, even the darkness. I have worked as a journalist since December 2008 and I have learned a lot of things about my issue. Now I have a lot of chances to fight for my issue through writing and talking about the…

View original post 1,229 more words

