From the kitchen | 2, 4, 6, 8 Cake (otherwise known as Butter Cake)

One of my Nan’s most common recipes was what she called a 2, 4, 6, 8 Cake – called such as it contained 2 eggs, 4 ounces of butter, 6 ounces of sugar, 8 ounces of self-raising flour and then half a cup of milk – and that’s it. Also known as a butter cake, I came across my Nan’s recipe card which basically just instructs you to mix it all together and bake for an hour – a woman of few words was my Nan! So I decided to give it a go and I used one of her old bundt tins.

IMG_7897

What you will need

2 eggs
4 oz (125g) butter
6 oz (180g) sugar
8 oz (225g) self-raising flour
1/2 cup milk

My Nan’s instructions were literally – Mix together and cook in a moderate oven ( 180°C) for 1 hour.

I creamed together the butter and…

View original post 153 more words

